Drago goes SCA

Notes on my creative anchronism journey


What is the start line for this project?

Several years ago I purchased a plot of the land in the village with intention to build a house and have some space for growing food and some flowers. No running water, electricity or gas. Nothing.

Next years past in the process of cultivating the land as it was covered with high and dense neglected meadow growth. Thick grass combined with bushes, perannial weeds, wild blackberry and seedlings of mulberry and wild pear. I exercised my scythe, shovel and saw a lot. Hand water pump was installed. Now it seems like something habitable. So last year after russian troops were pushed to the east and it was sure that my plot was free of any landmines – I continued building a small cabin and making my first beds. As for fruit trees I`ve already planted apples, cherries, quince, plums and chestnut. They are still very young and maybe I will have produce in 3-4 years. The only producing trees I have now are couple of mullberries and wild pear.
My garden bushes are gooseberries, white, red and black currants, magnolia berry (Schisandra chinensis), hazelnut.
I also planted a dozen of rhubarb plants, wild strawberries and a small line of mints.

My friend and I have managed to build a 3×4 greenhouse (polutunnel) covered with film. I hope to build bigger one in next years and cover it with some stiff material. Anyway, I had enough tomatoes last year to eat.
But the war took the precious spring time – and enegry, I missed almost all spring planting season.

So, I have some space to grow plants and water to keep them alive. I will start my seedlings and prepare an irrigarion system to water the plants – as I still have my full-time job to do and each minute is precious.



Leave a comment

About Me

Ukrainian LARPer and SCAdian interested in history, crafts especially carpentry and woodworking, gardening, cooking, fencing

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started